Sun 12.05.2024

Most popular forest run in the Baltics.
More information


After the successful launch of Tartu Rattaralli in 1982 and the pressure from runners the first Tartu Sügisjooks (Tartu Autumn Run) was organized in 1983. It was decided that the marathon should definately be run in the city just like other famous marathons in the world. So the course passed the city of Tartu, starting by the river Emajõgi and finish at the stadium of Tartu University.

From the first edition on the event gained popularity and following years the number of participants of the main race already grew to more than 1000. And this number did not include the shorter races – 10 and 4 km. Also, the races for children – MINI and MIDIjooks – were very popular, the highest numbers reached 2000. As for any other popular sport event, the golden period was between 1984 and 1987. And the hardest time was the beginning of the nineties. Fortunately nowdays has been set up new participation records.

While Tartu Maraton and Rattaralli annually grew in the end of the nineties, the running event, that was organized by running clubs, needed a new impulse. The last Tartu Sügisjooks was held in 1999, on a new course. The city atmosphere was exchanged for a more healthier one and the race was taken to South-Estonia, to places known from Tartu Maraton.

Next big change took place in 2000 when the race was taken to spring instead of autumn. Tartu Sügisjooks became Tartu Jooksumaraton. The distances stayed the same – 23 km for the main race and 10 km for the short race. Present course of Tartu Jooksumaraton starts in Otepää and ends in Elva. Where possible, the course follows the track of Tartu Maraton. The changes of the course and program in 1999 are fairly justified – the emotional event in the springtime has become more and more popular since 2000. The main race of Tartu Maastikumaraton is the most popular long distance run in Estonia.  In 2004, a 10 km Nordic Walking was added to the program. It was the first big Nordic Walking event in Estonia and became popular straight away. Since 2007, there is also a 23 km distance for Nordic Walking.


  • Timeline

    1983 the first Tartu Sügisjooks with distances 19,2 km was organized in the Tartu city
    1984 childrens' races were added to program
    1986 the course was changed to 20km
    1987 participation record of Soviet times (almost 4500 finishers in all distances together)
    1990 5 km Family run was added to the program
    1992 10 km run was added to the program
    1995 the race course was prolonged to match half-marathon lenght (21,1 km).
    1995 finish area moved from Tartu University stadium to renovated Tartu Song Festival Arena
    1999 Tartu Sügisjooks course moved from Tartu city to forest roads from Otepää to Elva with distance 23 km
    2000 Tartu Sügisjooks was renamed to Tartu Jooksumaraton, event time was moved from September to second Sunday of May
    2008 finishline changed location at Tartumaa Tervisespordikeskus, new lenght of course 23,4km. Started new era of keeping course record.
    2011 startline of 10 km changed location at Tartumaa Tervisespordikeskus
    2013 Charity Run was added to the events program
    2016 Main distance was shortened to 23,3 km
    2017 5 km distance was added to the program
    2018 42 km distance was added to the program, event also got a new name - Tartu Forest Marathon

    2023 start and finish at the same place - Tartumaa Tervisespordikeskus

  • Winners


    2000 Vjatsheslav Koshelev  EST  Jane Salumäe EST
    2001 Vjatsheslav Koshelev  EST  Külli Kaljus (Pirksaar) EST
    2002 Vjatsheslav Koshelev  EST  Külli Kaljus (Pirksaar) EST
    2003 Vjatsheslav Koshelev  EST  Külli Kaljus (Pirksaar) EST
    2004 Pavel Loskutov  EST  Maile Mangusson EST
    2005 Pavel Loskutov  EST  Tiina Tross EST
    2006 Margus Pirksaar  EST  Olga Andrejeva EST
    2007 Vjatsheslav Koshelev  EST  Kadri Kadak EST
    2008 Vjatsheslav Koshelev  EST  Olga Andrejeva EST
    2009 Yuri Vinogradov RUS  Külli Pirksaar EST
    2010 Taivo Püi EST  Irene Chepkirui KEN
    2011 Raji Assefa Worku ETH   Etaferu Wodaj Temesgen ETH
    2012 Viljar Vallimäe   EST  Evelin Talts EST
    2013 Roman Fosti EST  Natalia Sokolova RUS
    2014 Roman Fosti EST  Evelin Talts EST
    2015 Wachira Ibrahim Mukunga KEN  Liina Luik EST
    2016 Wachira Ibrahim Mukunga KEN  Kaisa Kukk EST
    2017 Wachira Ibrahim Mukunga KEN  Olga Andrejeva EST
    2018 Ibrahim Mukunga Wachira KEN  Kaisa Kukk EST
    2019 Wachira Ibrahim Mukunga KEN  Marion Tibar EST
    2022 Wachira Ibrahim Mukunga KEN  Kaisa Kukk EST
    2023 Roman Fosti EST  Leila Luik EST
    2024 Julius Muriuki Wahome KEN  Liis-Grete Arro EST


    42,2 KM VÕITJAD

    2018 Sander Linnus  EST  Tea Pärnik EST
    2019 Rauno Jallai  EST  Klarika Kuusk EST
    2022 Ülari Kais EST  Lilian Jõesaar EST
    2023 Rait Ratasepp EST  Anneli Ratassepp  EST
    2024 Rait Ratasepp EST  Külli Sizask EST