17.09 - 24.09.2023

Cyclist´s best time.
More information


Mountain bikes were invented by Americans already in the beginning of the eighties, but in Estonia the first bikes appeared only at the end of the nineties. The new type of bikes were well accepted but there was no suitable popular races.

In 1998 the time seemed to be right and taking an example from the famous Norvegian race Birkebeiner-rittet, the first Tartu Rattamaraton was organized. The race follows the course of Tartu (ski)Maraton. For the first years the distances were 63 and 31, just like in cross-country skirace Tartu Maraton. When the first Tartu Rattamaraton started on asphalt, soon the start was taken to a meadow. The aim of the race is to be suitable for every healthy person. The first and the biggest change in the history of Tartu Rattamaraton was done in the fall of 2006, when the distances grew to 87 and 40 km. The change was brought alive because of the grown quality of bikes, skills and training among the participants.

Before the first Tartu Rattamaraton many specialists were rather pessimistic about the success of this kind of a race. But despite that, already the first edition had over 1000 participants. Fast growth within the next years helped Tartu Rattamaraton to reach the level of Tartu Maraton (already 5213 paricipants in 2008) and despite a lot of compiting races in Estonia, none of them has reached such high numbers. As Latvia and Lithuania did not had similar races for a long time, the number of participants from those two countries grow annually.

Since 2002, Tartu Rattamaraton has belonged to the UCI calendar. That makes the race an international sport event. In 2009, exept of the traditional Estonian Championships, the European Champions in MTB Marathon were cleared up.

In 2017 a new distance of 21 km was added to the program.


  • Winners

    1998 Alges Maasikmets EST  Riina Toomis EST
    1999 Andrus Aug EST  Grete Pedmanson (Treier) EST
    2000 Alges Maasikmets EST  Riina Toomis EST
    2001 Alges Maasikmets EST  Grete Pedmanson (Treier) EST
    2002 Sigvard Kukk EST  Grete Pedmanson (Treier) EST
    2003 Aleksejs Saramotins LAT  Grete Treier EST
    2004 Caspar Austa EST  Grete Treier EST
    2005 Aleksejs Saramotins LAT  Grete Treier EST
    2006 Jaan Kirsipuu EST  Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesja  NOR
    2007 Jaan Kirsipuu EST  Laura Lepasalu EST
    2008 Jaan Kirsipuu EST  Ivanda Eiduka LAT
    2009 Allan Oras EST  Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesja  NOR
    2010 Tanel Kangert EST  Ivanda Eiduka LAT
    2011 Tanel Kangert EST  Maaris Meier EST
    2012 Erki Pütsep EST  Lelde Ardava LAT
    2013 Erki Pütsep EST  Dana Rozlapa LAT
    2014 Andzs Flaksis LAT  Janelle Uibokand EST
    2015 Peeter Tarvis EST  Liisa Ehrberg EST
    2016 Andzs Flaksis LAT  Lelde Ardava LAT
    2017 Martins Blums LAT  Katrina Jaunslaviete LAT
    2018 Eimantas Gudiškis LTU  Katrina Jaunslaviete-Kipure LAT
    2019 Gert Jõeäär EST  Janelle Uibokand EST
    2020 Alo Jakin EST  Janelle Uibokand EST
    2021 Gert Kivistik EST  Janelle Uibokand EST
    2022 Gleb Karpenko EST  Laura Lepasalu EST
    2023 Antti-Jussi Juntunen FIN  Merili Sirvel EST




Maratoni Kodu