Estonian Norman Vahtra won the 42. Tartu Rattaralli


The victory of the Hawaii Express 42. Tartu Rattaralli 128 km distance was taken by Estonian cyclist Norman Vahtra, who made a powerful attack just one kilometer before the finish line. The second place went to the Estonian Karl Kurits, who had a better leg in the final sprint competing against Hugo Forssell from Sweden.

42. Tartu Rattaralli winner Norman Vahtra. Photo by Aldis Toome

The winner of this year's race was determined from a group of fourteen riders, who managed to get a nearly 3-minute gap. When they reached the streets of Tartu city, it was clear that they are not threaten by other riders anymore and the leaders tried to get away for several times. "Today I kept my cool nerve for a long time and stayed patiently at the back of the group, waiting for my moment. I attacked just a kilometer before the finish line," said Norman Vahtra, who rides in the Go Sport–Roubaix–Lille Métropole team. The winner's time was 2 hours, 41 minutes and 42 seconds.


Swedish cyclist Matilda Frantzich won the first place among women and the 32nd overall.  "I am very satisfied with the result because I did not expect to win. I like both the Tartu Rattaralli track and the city of Tartu very much," said Frantzich.


The Estonian Elisabeth Ebras finished as the second best woman and Elina Tasane as the third. All the top three got a final time of 2 hours, 47 minutes and 34 seconds. Final ranking was decided by the photo finish.


The results of all three distances of Tartu Rattaralli are available HERE.


More than 5,000 cycling fans form all different ages took part in the 42. Tartu Rattaralli. The virtual race lasts for another week, until June 4.


The series of Tartu Maratoni Klassik continues with the 26. Tartu MTB Marathon on September 17.